Dealing With Herpes

Dealing with herpes can be difficult after a person has been diagnosed with herpes.  Many people fall into a never ending tailspin of destructive behavior and depression.  Even getting out of bed can sometimes be a challenge for some people living with herpes.

Just about every one of us has experienced a certain level of depression that can be better described as grief.  It’s very similar to the Kubler-Ross model initially introduced by Elisabeth Kubler-Ross in the book On Death and Dying.

In the book Kubler-Ross  pinpoints five regularly recognized phases of grief — denial, anger, bargaining, depression and acceptance.  Each person experiences these five phases when coping with herpes or just about any tragedy or loss. These stages of grief have grown to be the platform for learning how to live with genital herpes and dealing with herpes.

You could move through a number of stages simultaneously although the last stage is acceptance. The other phases can occur in virtually any order and you may go back and forth between the stages too. Remember, that not every person experiences each one of these stages or experiences them in any specific sequence.

Additionally, there’s no set time frame that you should spend in a stage or with the total process for that matter. This is an extremely unique and individual process. The most significant advantage of understanding these phases is recognizing that this is really a process and that at some point you will have the peacefulness, serenity and acceptance that you deserve.

At some point the depression, despair, the emotions of being helpless and having no hope will go away entirely or diminish.

It really is wonderful knowing that your life with herpes is going to improve.

Dealing With Herpes – The 5 Stages of Grief

Dealing With Herpes

Dealing With Herpes - 5 Stages of Grief

Denial Stage

Denial can help you make it through news, which is too difficult to deal with. Stressed by feelings of shock or numbness, you grasp just as much as you are able to accept at the moment. All people who think they’ve got herpes desires and prays that it really is something different until the minute they receive medical affirmation.

You will find individuals who continue to deny his or her positive status despite their medical diagnosis. In some way they tell themselves that this diagnosis was wrong.

As denial fades, you can start to deal with the emotions that have been too painful to cope with at first.

The Anger Stage

Anger indicates acceptance but distress with the genital herpes diagnosis. You are entitled to feel angry yet don’t allow anger get the very best of you. It is important to keep in mind that in this particular stage, you have to make use of that anger and focus it into a beneficial energy. Really the only grown up approach to dealing with anger is by using that energy to achieve life-improving ambitions. A few examples of these ambitions tend to be any that meet the needs of a person’s fundamental needs of love, prosperity or health and fitness.

This is actually the only choice that will cause you to feel better in the long run. Hold it inside and you’ll ultimately have problems with depression.

The Bargaining Stage

The bargaining stage is yet another type of denial and entails the hope that one could bargain your way out of the predicament. Creating bargains with God to change your diagnoses in return for such things as; make positive changes to your way of life, to attend church, and so forth. Guiltiness could also creep in your thoughts throughout the bargaining stage.

A number of people who are dealing with herpes will discover themselves misplaced inside a web of “If only…” assertions and blaming themselves for getting the herpes simplex virus.

The Sadness and Depression Stage

Dealing with herpes naturally leads to great sadness. You could have difficulty sleeping and focusing, you could lack your normal energy, or you might find yourself weeping at any time. These are generally normal responses and a part of the process in achieving acceptance.

Listed below are ways in which many people manage their depression:

  • A person is often impulsive. This is easily the most common manner in which people in the beginning deal with depression. Many people eat way too much, overspend, turn out to be workaholics, etc.
  • A person could possibly be the victim. Regularly wondering, “Why Me?” is an exceptionally damaging behavior and can frequently keep you depressed for a longer period.
  • A person can be courageous. Depression symptoms is the brain’s means of letting you know that you’ve got fears and difficulties that you should deal with. This will be the best way to successfully cope with depression.

Talking to a professional therapist or taking part in a support group may help. Whenever an individual has several signs of depression each day for a few weeks or longer, or perhaps signs and symptoms are substantial enough to hinder daily routines, it could be time to search for an assessment and perhaps therapy by a competent professional.

The Acceptance Stage

Acceptance is the ultimate stage along the way of dealing with herpes diagnosis. Even so, acceptance is not about letting go of your suffering. It really means you’ve recognized that genital herpes is a part of your life. Acceptance implies that you have ceased looking to restore what you’ve lost and therefore are moving on to new experiences. Even though you might still have the pain associated with the herpes diagnosis, you are accepting the reality and getting on with your daily life.

To be happy you must learn that dealing with herpes is accepting the virus.

Return Home from Dealing With Herpes

Tags: , , , ,

Leave A Reply (No comments so far)

The comments are closed.

No comments yet

FREE Report!


The 5 Critical Mistakes People Make When Telling Someone About Herpes.